procedure for drawing path

Frequent questions asked online, offline, in forums are answered here
GOB
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:32 pm

procedure for drawing path

Postby GOB » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:21 am

Hi,

Can you please explain the procedure for drawing a path on the dashboard screen?

Thanks.

smoker77
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 4:03 pm

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby smoker77 » Thu Sep 22, 2016 12:25 pm

Hi,

Dashboard sends requests to the modem to get coordinates of hedgehogs according to this protocol:
http://marvelmind.com/pics/modem_usb_pr ... _07_02.pdf
The received coordinates dashboard draws on the screen as blue points, which form a path.

By default the dashboard also executes linear extrapolation of the path, in case if new coordinates does not received in expected time.
Extrapolation starts if time from last received position is 1.5 times more then time between last two received positions.
In extrapolation mode, new linearly extrapolated points set with interval of time equal to the time between last two received positions.
Extrapolation stops if new coordinates not received during 3 seconds.

The extrapolation can be disabled through menu as shown on the screenshot.
Attachments
dashboard_draw.PNG
dashboard_draw.PNG (67.47 KiB) Viewed 1797 times

GOB
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby GOB » Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:41 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I understand that "breadcrumb" plotting by the system - what I was referring to was the capability shown in some of the videos to draw your own pre-determined path and coordinates onto the dashboard screen.

I'll try to find one of the videos this is shown in and post a link.

GOB
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby GOB » Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:13 pm

see this video for the path drawing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjcnDvr ... e=youtu.be

smoker77
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 4:03 pm

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby smoker77 » Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:08 pm

I'm sorry for bad understanding of the question.
On the screenshot is shown the dashboard screen with window for controlling the robot path.
This window opens by the button in the area of manual robot control, and this area appears only if the robot is available in the system.

The text area on the left part of the window contains the text representation of the program (path), each line means movement to the point with selected coordinates. You can type the program manually or use more friendly interface described lower.
If you type 'END' in the last line, the movement will be executed single time, by default it will repeat in continuous cycle.

The buttons in the window have following functions (from top to bottom):
1. Start
Upload selected path of movent into the robot and start the movement
2. STOP
Stop the movement. Hotkey: CTRL+S
3. Pause
Pause of the movement (movent is stopped but can be continued). Hotkey: CTRL+P
4. Continue
Continue the paused movement. Hotkey: SHIFT+P
5. Save
Save the movement program (path) to file
6. Load
Load movement program from file
7. set path on map
If this button is in active state, click on the map by left button of mouse to add next target point for movement path.
Already placed points can be moved by drag-and-drop.
8. snap to grid
If this button is in active state, new points of movement path placed by mouse are aligned to the map grid
9. clear selected point
Press this button and then click on the point in the movement path on the map, which you want to remove
10. clear last point
This button removes the last added point from path (for example, if it was added accidentally)
11. clear all path
This button removes all points from the path
12. speed
Allows to select required speed of the robot in percents.
The command for changing speed is inserted to the program, so the robot can pass different parts of path on different speeds.
13. start point
These arrows allow to select starting point - the point from which the robot starts execution of program.
The starting point is shown by pink color on the map.
14. parse for map
This button is needed if tou type the movement program manually.
Press it to process the prgoram to show it on the map
15. Close
Close the window
Attachments
robot_path.png
robot_path.png (66.89 KiB) Viewed 1781 times

GOB
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby GOB » Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:25 pm

Thank you!

GOB
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby GOB » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:35 pm

How do I get the "robot" device to come up?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby admin » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:38 pm

GOB wrote:How do I get the "robot" device to come up?



You have to have our robot too. For example: http://www.marvelmind.com/#Buy => crawler

GOB
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby GOB » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:44 pm

what if I just want to draw things on the dashboard screen, not ouput any control signals?

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: procedure for drawing path

Postby admin » Sat Oct 08, 2016 10:47 pm

GOB wrote:what if I just want to draw things on the dashboard screen, not ouput any control signals?
df

The feature is activated when robot is in the network.
Why would you need it otherwise?... I am curious


Return to “FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest